When Christy gave me the opportunity to read an ARC copy of her newest book The Librarian, I had no idea what to expect. I can say for certain it definetly wasn’t this. 

This book was amazing, I think only a few book have made me literally laugh out loud but this book made me cry with laughter. The humour and reactions from the character Emmeline to events in this book are hilarious. She is like every other 19 year old girl who wants her freedom and to follow her own path. However I loved how she would do what was needed of her, when she was needed most she didn’t bow to peer pressure or what was expected of her. I also loved how her character wasn’t stupid, when she distanced herself she could see people for who they really were, making her aware. In a way it became a protection for both herself and the Library. 

The plot twist was defiantly unexpected, I did think that something similar would happen, however the character in which the twist revolves around was very unexpected, however I should have seen it coming, all the signs were there; once you know where to look. 

I also loved how modern the writing was, when Christy annoced that the book would be set in the 1800’s I was intrigued as to how she would carry it through, I’ve never really been interested in period dramas or books, but the layout and combination of the old and the new was refreshing. 
I think Christy did a wonderful job! I look forward to reading more of her work, and I encourage you all to give it a read; as well as her other varied work. 

Look out for The Librarian, coming June! 

My rating 5/5 

Leave a Reply

